Health Information Management

-A A +A

AHIMA Credentials and Certification Information

AHIMA's coding and HIM credentials help students gain respect, enhance their resume, earn better salaries, and mark themselves as valuable leaders and assets within the HIM profession.


Certified Coding Associate
The CCA distinguishes coders by exhibiting commitment and demonstrating coding competencies across all settings, including both hospitals and physician practices.


Certified Coding Specialist
CCSs are mastery-level professionals skilled in classifying medical data from patient records, generally in the hospital setting. 


Certified Coding Specialist-Physician-based
The CCS-P is a mastery-level coding practitioner with expertise in physician-based settings such as physician offices, group practices, multi-specialty clinics, or specialty centers.


Registered Health Information Technician
RHIT credential holders are health information technicians who ensure the quality of medical records by verifying their completeness, accuracy, and proper entry. Combined with a bachelor’s degree and experience, the RHIT credential holds solid potential for advancement to management positions.

Certified Healthcare Technology Specialist (CHTS) Exams

As the nation moves toward industry-wide adoption of electronic health records (EHRs), the Bureau of Labor Statistics expects a shortage of about 50,000 qualified health IT workers to meet the needs of hospitals and healthcare affiliates. The Certified Healthcare Technology Specialist (CHTS) competency exams allow professionals and employers to capitalize on new technologies, procedures and careers. The CHTS exams assess the competency of individuals seeking to demonstrate proficiency in certain health IT workforce roles integral to the implementation and management of electronic health information. The CHTS exams assess the competency of health IT professionals to:

  • Assess workflows
  • Select hardware and software
  • Work with vendors
  • Install and test systems
  • Diagnose IT problems
  • Train practice staff on systems

Certified Healthcare Technology Specialist-CP Exam (CHTS-CP)
The Clinician/Practitioner Consultant Examination conveys the background and experience of a licensed clinical and professional or public health professional.

Certified Healthcare Technology Specialist-IM Exam (CHTS-IM)
Implementation Manager Examination demonstrates a candidate’s ability to provide on-site management of mobile adoption support teams throughout the implementation process of health IT systems. Prior to training, workers will have experience in health, IT environments, administrative or managerial positions.

Certified Healthcare Technology Specialist-IS Exam (CHTS-IS)
Implementation Support Specialist Examination tests a candidate’s ability to provide on-site user support throughout the health IT system implementation process. Previous background in this role includes information technology or information management.

Certified Healthcare Technology Specialist-TS Exam (CHTS-TS)
Technical/Software Support Staff Examination assesses a candidate’s ability to maintain systems in clinical and public health settings, including patching and upgrading software. Candidate backgrounds include information technology or information management.

Certified Healthcare Technology Specialist-TR Exam (CHTS-TR)
Trainer Examination conveys the ability to design and deliver training programs to employees in clinical and public health settings. Previous background includes experience as a health professional or health information management specialist. Experience as a trainer is desired.

Certified Healthcare Technology Specialist-PW Exam (CHTS-PW)
This Exam portrays the skills needed to reorganize a provider’s work to effectively use health IT to improve health care. Candidates may have backgrounds in health care or information technology, but are not licensed clinical professionals.

For more information about AHIMA certifications visit