-A A +A

Math Lecturer Jonathan Weisbrod selected for statewide mathematics fellowship

Johnathan Weisbrod

Burlington County College (BCC) Math Lecturer Jonathan Weisbrod is one of 16 college instructors selected for a statewide fellowship designed to help new faculty members and improve undergraduate mathematics education.

NJ-NExT, New Experiences in Teaching, is a professional development program for relatively new college-level faculty sponsored by the Mathematical Association of America.

“Mathematics is integral to our world today, and the future. Jonathan is a very talented instructor and scholar who always strives to improve himself in pursuit of helping the next generation of students,” BCC Interim President Dr. David Spang said. “This fellowship speaks volumes about Jonathan’s qualifications and the caliber of all of our instructors throughout Burlington County College.”

Weisbrod, of Mount Laurel, joined BCC’s full-time faculty in August 2013 as a math lecturer after previously serving as a community college teaching career intern and an adjunct instructor. His courses include the calculus sequence, linear algebra, differential equations, special projects in mathematics and undergraduate research.

“The NJ-NExT fellowship is a outstanding opportunity to collaborate with other new instructors from across the state to become more effective teachers for our students,” Weisbrod said. “I am honored to represent Burlington County College in this cohort with many of our state’s most promising new college instructors. I look forward to learning more about the profession and hope to gain new skills that will make Burlington County College’s math program even stronger.”

Weisbrod holds a bachelor’s and master’s degrees in mathematics from Rowan University. He has instructed students conducting advanced mathematical studies as part of BCC’s Undergraduate Research Program, one of the few of its kind in a community college. He has also presented at several mathematics conferences throughout the country.

NJ-NExt fellows meet twice a year and are assigned a faculty mentor from another institution. The program does not accept new members every year and has 63 members from four separate cohorts since 2005.