Transfer Center

-A A +A

State-Wide Transfer Agreement

Students who graduate with an associate’s degree from one of New Jersey’s 19 community colleges, and transfer to a public college in New Jersey, are now supported by the State-wide Transfer law. The law ensures that the first two years of college will be counted towards a bachelor’s degree at any public, four year college or university. The purpose of the state-wide transfer agreement is to provide a seamless transition for New Jersey Community College students.

New Jersey State Colleges and Universities:

  The College of New Jersey
  Kean University
  Montclair State University
  New Jersey City University
  New Jersey Institute of Technology
  Ramapo College of New Jersey
  Richard Stockton College of New Jersey
  Rowan University
  Rutgers University
  Thomas Edison State College
  University of Medicine and Dentistry
  William Paterson University of New Jersey

The state-wide transfer agreement does have rules and regulations, therefore it is important to plan ahead and be as prepared as possible for transfer.

Details of the Comprehensive State-wide Transfer Agreement (Lampitt Bill):

  • The Lampitt Bill law applies only to an Associate in Science (A.S.) degree and an Associate in Arts (A.A.) degree. NOTE: It does not include the Associate in Fine Arts (A.F.A.) or the Associate in Applied Science (A.A.S.).  
  • Students are not guaranteed admission into any 4 year institutions. Refer to the institution’s admissions office website to review the entrance requirements for transfer students.
  • Transfer students are expected to meet the specific designated graduation requirements and program requirements of the four-year institution, even if they graduated with a RCBC Associate of Arts or Associate of Science degree. Example: If a four-year institution requires a ​literature course as a "graduation requirement", student​s​ must take the ​literature course at the four year institution if an equivalent course is not taken at RCBC.
  • Generally, the 60-64 credits earned at RCBC (completion of associates degree) is the equivalent of half of the credits required for the four year degree.

To view the Comprehensive State-wide Agreement, click here.